Software & Hardware Reviews

Educational, Business and Entertainment Software Reviews

October 2017 Vol 23 # 10 . 16MP Sports Action Camera with WiFi & Remote Control

Recent Software Reviews

June 2017--DJI Phantom Drone Videos & Puppet Parodies
April 2017--TurboTax Home and Business 2016 from Intuit is Just Amazing!
March 2017--How to Attract New Youtube Subscribers to Your Channel
February 2017--Playing Minecraft Windows 10 Beta
January 2017--Drone Ban in West Bloomfield, Michigan Parks
December 2016--DJI Phantom 4 Drone Range Testing
November 2016--More Amazing DJI Phantom 4 Drone Videos

16MP Sports Action Camera with WiFi & Wireless Remote Control

By Howard Berenbon
 
I purchased this 4K WiFi Sports Action Camera (170 degree wide angle lens) because I thought the remote control feature would be helpful in making Youtube videos. I've been making Youtube videos on my own since early 2016 using an inexpensive ($200) 16.1MP Canon camera and a $50, 12MP sports action camera similar to the Andoer brand. Since I produce my videos on my own, I thought having a camera with a wireless remote control would help a lot.

The camera came with all the same accessories as my old 12MP sports camera including a waterproof case, parts to connect to a bicycle helmet and handle bar and several different adjustable mounts and attachments. I mounted the camera to the brim of a baseball cap using one of the tripod mount accessories so I could record hands free while walking. With a similar attachment you can also connect the camera to a selfie stick. The Andoer camera has function buttons in the same location as my older sports camera. The power ON button is in the front on the far right of the lens. It also acts as a mode select button once the camera is on. It starts up in Video mode, but can be changed to record stills by pressing the power button once. A second button on the top is marked OK, which is the Video record or shutter button. So, when you press OK in the Video mode, it starts your recording. To stop recording, you press the OK button again.

Setting Up

When I first powered on the camera it had no memory card installed, and memory is not included. It happens to take a microSD card up to 64GB, which is a plus for this camera. I inserted the chip, and was ready to start a recording, excited to try out the wireless remote. The camera was ON, and in Video Mode, so I pressed the OK button and an error was displayed. Although the microSD card I inserted was new, and already formatted, the Andoer camera wanted to reformat the chip. That's something I hadn't experienced with my older sports camera. When I installed a new card in that camera, I could start recording without formatting. So, I allowed the Andoer camera to reformat the chip even though I didn't think that was a necessary step. Once finished, in just a few seconds, I got the camera to record and also shot a still picture (of me). Then I transferred the microSD chip to my desktop computer and copied the contents. A sample video is included, recorded at 4K (the default setting), and the 170 degree wide angle picture was extremely clear.

Howard

This camera worked well, including the audio which perfectly synced to the video. The reason I mention syncing is because about a year ago I tested another brand sports camera I purchased on eBay, and the audio did not sync. In that case, I returned the camera.

As far as the WiFi feature goes, it requires an app on your mobile device to run, but I didn't install it because I don't need to have it connected to my mobile devices.

Summing Up

The camera functions well, and was very clear at 4K resolution, and the audio sounded good too. But I was disappointed that for $89.99 it did not include a power adapter. It should be included with the accessories. This is not a major problem because you can use any Android phone adapter for charging the battery.

Specifications

Lens 170 Degree Wide Angle Lens
4X digital zoom
2.0" LCD screen displaying details.
Video Resolution: 4K 30fps/2.7K 30fps/1080P (60/30fps)/720P(120/60/30fps)
Photo Resolution:16M/12M/8M/5M/2M
Time Lapse/ Loop Recording/ Slow Motion shooting modes.
Function: WiFi/4X Zoom/Record Sound/Image Rotation/ Driving Mode/Auto Shut-down/Time Stamp
Video Mode:Time Lapse(0.5/1/2/5/10/30/60s)/ Loop Recording(2/3/5min)/Slow Motion(1080P 60fps/720P 120fps)/ FOV (Wide/Middle/Narrow)WiFi Function and 2.4G remote
Support up to 64GB Memory Card (Not included).

What's in the Box

Action Camera with Battery(3.7V 900mAh Rechargeable Li-ion),1 * Remote Control,1 * Belt,1 * Waterproof Housing,1 * Backdoor,1 * USB Cable,1 * Bicycle Mount,1 * J-shape Mount,1 * Bracket with Clip,2 * Helmet Mount,2 * Adhesive Tape,1 * Fix Base,3 * Switch Support,4 * Bandage,1 * Wire,2 * Plastic Cable,1 * Cleaning Cloth,1 * User Manual

For more information or to buy the Andoer WiFi Sports Action Camera visit Amazon.com

HB

 

=========================================

If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

facebook cyber news twitter

Link to us with the following code:

HTML

<a href="http://www.cyber-reviews.com">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>

Navigation:

[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at http://internetadvisor.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Podcast-1441-Oct.-11-2014.mp3

Sponsor Page

The Water Exchange, West Bloomfield, Michigan offering low cost Fluoride Water Filters and Chlorine Water Filters for municipal water filtration.

Find-Me-Online.net

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

Cyber News Address