Software & Hardware Reviews

Educational, Business and Entertainment Software Reviews

Dec. 2016 Vol 22 # 12 . DJI Phantom 4 Drone Flights to Test Range

Recent Software Reviews

June 2016--Selfie Stick with Bluetooth Controls
May 2016--The DZ09 Blue Tooth Smart Watch & Phone
April 2015--TurboTax® Personal & Small Business 2014 Federal & State Returns plus Federal E-File
March 2015--Vipre® Internet Security 2015 from ThreatTrack Security
February 2015--Presence: A Fee Free Home Security System with Video Monitoring from People Power
January 2015--The Incredible Foldscope(TM)--an Orgami-based Optical Microscope from Prakash Lab, Stanford University
December 2014---The Best Paranormal Apps for Your Apple or Android Device
November 2014--Royalty Free Stock Photos and Images from US Government Sources
October 2014--Best Free Streaming Music/Audio/Video Apps for iPhone and Android Devices
September 2014--Some of the Latest and Greatest iPad/iPhone/Android/iPod Touch Apps

Range Testing with the DJI Phantom 4 Drone

By Howard Berenbon

In the two latest tests I took my DJI Phantom 4 Drone to its limits, first 1100 feet and then 1500 feet. But, actually, the drone has been tested to travel up to 3 miles and back. Getting the drone to the 3 miles or more down range depends on several factors. If you fly line of sight with no obstructions, no power lines or cell towers, that distance can be attained.

If you like my videos, please subcribe to my channel.

1100 Feet Range Test

This was my first flight of my DJI Phantom 4 relying on my iPad display. I flew to the edge of Drake Sports Park off of Drake Road (see video). When it reached Drake the controller signal was going in and out, but moving the controller antennas in the park direction improved signal reception back to normal. However, when I tried to return the drone manually, I did not think it was responding fast enough so instead of wasting time, I pressed the Home Button on the controller. And in just about minute it was flying above me. I didn't think I was in danger of losing it because of the safeguards, but acted quickly to get the drone back home. It was very neat to fly the Phantom using the video display. I recorded the session, about 7 minutes, so you can see it turning at the point that I pressed the Home button. Just prior to taking off, recorded the GPS location, which is called Home, or its starting point. So, if anything happens like a low battery or complete loss of signal, the drone is programmed to climb to a safe height (100 or more feet, which you can modfy) and then it will to the Home coordinates. Once in sight you can take control, or it will land on its own.

Camera:

Phantom 4 HD Camera set at 1080P
Sports Action Camera, 4K 1080P, 12MP

1500 Feet Range Test

My DJI Phantom 4 Drone flies to 1501 feet range from GPS Home and approximately 300 feet height. This was the longest distance reached so far since flying the drone. In the last flight it reached 1100 feet before it had controller reception problems and I hit the Home button. I was flying towards Drake Sports Park, which has cell towers. The towers likely affect the reception. However the Phantom 4 can go as far as 3 miles when conditions are right: line of sight in an open area without interference from other transmitters, power lines or buildings in the area. This flight was over a wooded area and line of site. I manually returned the drone when the video started breaking up slightly, but I did not lose transmission. In my next flight, if weather permits, I will try to reach 1800 or 2000 feet. For now, 1/4 mile range was very good, and the video returned was excellent.

Video Editor: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6

Cameras

DJI Phantom 4 HD set at 1080P
Sports Action Camera on baseball cap, 1080P, 12MP

Visit Amazon.com for more information on the DJI Phantom 4 Drone.

HB


If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

facebook cyber news twitter

Link to us with the following code:

HTML

<a href="http://www.cyber-reviews.com">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>

Navigation:

[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at http://internetadvisor.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Podcast-1441-Oct.-11-2014.mp3

Sponsor Page

The Water Exchange, West Bloomfield, Michigan offering low cost Fluoride Water Filters and Chlorine Water Filters for municipal water filtration.

Find-Me-Online.net

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

Cyber News Address