Software & Hardware Reviews

Educational, Business and Entertainment Software Reviews

May 2016 Vol 22 # 5 The DZ09 Blue Tooth Smart Watch/Phone

Recent Software Reviews

April 2015--TurboTax® Personal & Small Business 2014 Federal & State Returns plus Federal E-File
March 2015--Vipre® Internet Security 2015 from ThreatTrack Security
February 2015--Presence: A Fee Free Home Security System with Video Monitoring from People Power
January 2015--The Incredible Foldscope(TM)--an Orgami-based Optical Microscope from Prakash Lab, Stanford University
December 2014---The Best Paranormal Apps for Your Apple or Android Device
November 2014--Royalty Free Stock Photos and Images from US Government Sources
October 2014--Best Free Streaming Music/Audio/Video Apps for iPhone and Android Devices
September 2014--Some of the Latest and Greatest iPad/iPhone/Android/iPod Touch Apps

The DZ09 Blue Tooth Smart Watch & Phone

By Howard Berenbon

Since the Apple Watch was introduced many similar copies have been coming from China watch manufacturers. While the Apple Watch sells for $300 and up with lots of features and compatible to the iPhone, many competitive copies have emerged for the Android phone market. Some even work on the iPhone. Unfortunately for Apple, the prices of some of the smart watches sell for a fraction of what Apple gets for their designs. They start at around $8 and then go up to about $100. And some of the $60 to $100 designs even have a heart monitor. The $10 to $50 watches usually have pedometers. These inexpensive copies are likely taking a bite out the Apple smart watch market.

The one I reviewed this month is the DZ09 Blue Tooth Smart Watch with a stand-alone phone feature. It includes a very clear 1.5" diameter color touch screen display that works well. The watch will link via Blue Tooth to your Android, and to iPhones with limited features, but can be used without your Android phone as long as you add a sim card inside the case. Then it becomes a stand-alone phone.

In my case, I don't need a stand-alone "Dick Tracy" type phone watch, so I just linked it to my Android LG Smart Phone via Blue Tooth. Before you can link you have to download the BT Notification app from the Google Play Store, which allows you to pair the two devices. Once done, and activated through the watch and phone, you can dial out and receive calls, text messages, and notifications, from your watch. When a call comes in from your cell phone, it rings on your watch. Surprisingly, it sounds good talking through the watch. Other features include a built-in 2 MP camera for taking photos and videos, some health-related apps including a pedometer for tracking your steps and a sleep monitor (the watch detects movement). Also included is an anti-lost feature that allows you to locate your phone from your watch, or locate your watch from your phone, within about 75 feet. It even includes a calendar, a stop watch and a calculator. When you start it, by pushing the front bottom button, an analog watch face is displayed with a sweep second hand, which is one of 3 faces you can change by tapping on the display. You swipe the watch face to access the phone dialer and other menus. For moderate watch/phone use the built-in lithium ion battery will last about a day before it needs a recharge, which takes about an hour and a half through an AC power adapter and a mini USB cable. So far, all features are working well, and the phone seems well built, it looks good, and is really great, especially for its low cost.

I purchased the DZ09 Smart Watch for $21 with free shipping on eBay, but it's also available on Amazon with similar pricing. In fact, I've even seen it for as low as $16 with free shipping from China. For quicker delivery, I purchased my watch from a distributer in Maryland. It can take up to 3 weeks to get a shipment from China.

Below my Video Review of the DZ09 on Youtube:

For more information, or to order, click to visit (for gold color $16.74) or click for the silver color on (for $15.39) or you can find them on eBay.

I taped a second video with Nathan the Dummy:


If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

facebook cyber news twitter

Link to us with the following code:


<a href="">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>


[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at

Sponsor Page

The Water Exchange, West Bloomfield, Michigan offering low cost Fluoride Water Filters and Chlorine Water Filters for municipal water filtration.

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

Cyber News Address