Software & Hardware Reviews

Educational, Business and Entertainment Software Reviews

June 2016 Vol 22 # 6 . Selfie Stick with Bluetooth Controls

Recent Software Reviews

April 2015--TurboTax® Personal & Small Business 2014 Federal & State Returns plus Federal E-File
March 2015--Vipre® Internet Security 2015 from ThreatTrack Security
February 2015--Presence: A Fee Free Home Security System with Video Monitoring from People Power
January 2015--The Incredible Foldscope(TM)--an Orgami-based Optical Microscope from Prakash Lab, Stanford University
December 2014---The Best Paranormal Apps for Your Apple or Android Device
November 2014--Royalty Free Stock Photos and Images from US Government Sources
October 2014--Best Free Streaming Music/Audio/Video Apps for iPhone and Android Devices
September 2014--Some of the Latest and Greatest iPad/iPhone/Android/iPod Touch Apps

Selfie Stick with Bluetooth Controls

By Howard Berenbon

If you decide to get into the sport of video blogging, often called Vlogging, you will definitely need some type of iPhone/Android, iPod extender. This will allow you to take selfie videos a you walk through you video scenes. After video taping several tech review videos and a few non tech videos usng a ventriloquit dummy and some inexpensive puppets, it dawned on me: I needed a selfie stick to help with the videos. And so I did a search on eBay and Amazon, and low and behold I found the right stick on my first search. It was only $7.95 with free shipping, and it included Bluetooth electronics used to wirelessly take photos or videos just by the touch of a button on the handle. So, I placed the order, and in about 5 days I had the stick in my hand ready to go out into the world making some selfie videos with my ventriloquist dummy and puppets.

Locust Brand

The stick I bought was the Locust Brand made in China. The handle is made of plastic, and that's were the bluetooth electronics and charging port is located. The telescopic rod is made from stainless steel and extends out to about 28 inches. At the end is a spring loaded rubberized clip that holds a phone or iPod, and could be used to support a GoPro camera. This selfie stick has a good feel, and seems well made. Included are instructions in English and Chinese, and a USB charging cable. To use, clip on your mobile device to the phone holder/bracket and then sync the stick to your iPod, Android or iPhone by pressing on the blue button at the bottom of the plastic handle. Once synced, pressing on the blue button lets you take a photo or activate your video. If in video mode, pressing the button starts the recording, pressing a second time will stop your recording.

How it Works

The external volume control button on the Android or iPhone is used to operate your camera. The bluetooth electronics in the Selfie Stick accesses the volume control, and operates the camera by pressing the blue button on the handle.

I also reviewed the Selfie Stick on Youtube with Nathan the Dummy. See the embedded video review below.


If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

facebook cyber news twitter

Link to us with the following code:


<a href="">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>


[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at

Sponsor Page

The Water Exchange, West Bloomfield, Michigan offering low cost Fluoride Water Filters and Chlorine Water Filters for municipal water filtration.

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

Cyber News Address