Software & Hardware Reviews

DJI Phantom 4 Drones, Puppet Parodies, Apple Watch, Aniti-virus Software, Sports Action Cameras, Educational, Business and Entertainment Computer Software-Hardware Reviews

May 2018 Vol 24 #5 . Get a WiFi Thermostat. They're Cool!

Monthly software reviews and hardware reivews for business owners, parents and educators since 1995. We also review foreign language learning programs, freeware, shareware, TurboTax, DJI Phantom quadcopters & some computers & electronics.  Publishers and titles include Adobe Photoshop CS6, Adobe Dreamweaver CS6, Microsoft Office 2010, Rosetta Stone, Knowledge Adventure (Davidson) & more. HB. Note: some of our product reviews will appear on Amazon.com.

Recent Software Reviews from Cyber Times LLC

March 2018--Flying Your DJI Phantom 4 Drone in Winter Weather
February 2018--Publish on Amazon: It's Free and Easy
January 2018--What You Can't Do with Your Drone
December 2017--DJI Phantom 4 Drone Flying Car Simulation & Flying the Traffic Circles
November 2017--DJI Phantom 4 Drone Flying Around Town
October 2017--16MP Sports Action Camera with WiFi & Wireless Remote Control
September 2017--Some Great Free Photo and Video Resources on the Web
August 2017--Some Practical Uses for Your High Tech DJI Phantom Drone & the August 21st Solar Eclipse
July 2017--Fly Your Phantom 4, Plus, Drone Quadcopter Intelligently

Get a WiFi Thermostat. They're Cool!

By Howard Berenbon

We recently had a Home Energy Audit from our local power company. Both the electric and gas utilities will come to your home to check your energy efficiency and if they find problems, suggest ways to improve your usage to save on energy costs. Last week our local gas company was out to do a home inspection and we did fairly well. They suggest more insulation in our roof, and made sure everything was safe, and we passed. However, they also offered to change our thermostat to so we could monitor your heating and air conditioning settings over the Internet using your home WiFi connection. And it was all free.

The WiFi thermostat installed was a Sinsi brand made by Emerson. It took about 10 minutes to set up to our network, and then we were "cooking with gas", pun intended. This thermostat allows you to operate your furnace remotely. You can program temperature settings for individual days or the week, with four zones. But it's easy to over ride any of those settings from your smart phone with the click of a down or up arrow button. Also, the thermostat will sent alerts via e-mail if your furnace fails to respond to the programming. I liked that the cost was free, and a similar WiFi thermostat can cost up to $200. The complete inspection took about an hour and a half, and it was very thorough.


Next month we have the local electric utility scheduled out for the home electrical analysis. They say they're giving away some of those high efficiency LED light bulbs as part of the program.  And, it's all free of charge. Can't wait!

HB

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

Note: we are now publishing many of our product reviews on Amazon.com and eBay.com.

facebook cyber news twitter @HBerenbon

Link to us with the following code:

HTML

<a href="http://www.cyber-reviews.com">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>

Navigation:

[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at http://internetadvisor.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Podcast-1441-Oct.-11-2014.mp3

Visit our Sponsor Page

Find-Me-Online.net

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

cyber news